Google Maps and Earth

January 11, 2009 at 7:07 pm (Uncategorized)

Google Maps is fun šŸ™‚ I don’t know if anyone else has noticed this before (it has probably been in Grapevine), but quite often, someone with a sense of humour has suggested swimming between continents in the directions to get abroad… šŸ˜€ Apparently, if I want to walk to Madrid, it is a bit nearer than driving (good thing too!) – 1,145 miles as opposed to 1,200 and something if driving. I’m surprised at the level of detail too, but then who knows if it is accurate without trying it out. And I’m not going to do that I’m afraid. Sorry!

I decided to look up where my favourite, most expensive yarn shop is. I know how to get to it, but I just thought I’d look it up to check it was still there and hadn’t had anything terrible happen to it ;D

Up Country in Holmfirth

Well worth a trip to the town, plus Your Nuts nearby is good, as is the pub next door to it… Just if you were wondering šŸ˜‰

I’ve also been nosying on Google Sightseeing. Sadly, the only thing of note on search of West Yorkshire is the Emley Moor Mast – I’m sure there must be more to us than that!

As for Google Earth, it is VERY funky… But privacy can definitely be a possible issue. Presumably, Google wouldn’t publish an image if it was really obvious someone was sunbathing in their garden in the nuddie or something, but I’ll always remember (whether it was faked or not) a photo of a street from one of the maps in the US with a guy pointing a gun at a young boy. Regardless of how real or not it was, that does raise questions of responsibility and vetting of photos, and it goes back to similar arguements with regards to Wikipedia – whether it is real or not, should it stay on there? I’m not really sure – you could say it is important to show real life as long as people agree to their images being on there, but there is a level of appropriateness and responsibility as to whether it will have an impact on other people on viewing it… Hmmmm

Leave a Reply

